John F Standen, Non-Executive Chairman

John became our Non-Executive Chairman in 2007. John has recently been Non-Executive Chairman of Lavendon Group plc. He was Chairman of the Council of Hull University for seven years until retiring in April 2013. John was previously Non-Executive Chairman of Reg Vardy plc until its sale in 2006. He spent his career in corporate finance and was Chief Executive of BZW Corporate Finance before retiring from Barclays Bank plc in 1998.

Paul R Mines, Chief Executive Officer

Paul was appointed CEO in 2007.  An engineer with an MBA from London Business School, Paul spent his earlier career at ICI plc and Courtaulds plc and has 17 years experience in the plastics and packaging industry, managing high growth markets, turnarounds and M&A. For the eight years to 2006, Paul was CEO of the Betts Group, having led a management buy-out of the company from Courtaulds plc.

Sally Morley, Managing Director, Biome Bioplastics

Sally joined Biome Bioplastics in 2007 as Sales & Marketing Manager. She later became Commercial Director and promoted to the role of Managing Director of the Bioplastics division in June 2019. Having previously worked within the API Group for 11 years, Sally has significant operational, commercial & exporting experience within an SME producing speciality plastics and coatings. She has run her own business for more than 10 years, specialising in outsourcing export sales resources.

Stephen Baskerville, Managing Director, Stanelco RF Technologies

Stephen (Steve) took up his role in August 2013, he leads the Stanelco division across a diverse range of business activity that includes direct involvement in conception and successful delivery of standardised and customer-specific RF technology solutions. Originally qualifying as an Electronics Engineer, with a Power Electronics specialisation, and latterly studying on a part-time MBA program, Steve has now amassed more than 35 years of continuous working experience in the field of electro-heat process technology.

Michael Kayser, Independent Non-Executive Director

Michael was appointed as Non-Executive Director on 6 October 2010 and chairs the Audit and Remuneration Committee.  His previous experience includes Group Finance Director at Laporte PLC for five years, Finance Director of Guinness Brewing Worldwide and Non-Executive Director of Stobart Group plc and Chairman of their Audit Committee.

Donna Simpson-Strange, Company Secretary

Donna joined in 2006 as an in-house Solicitor, having qualified in 2004. Donna is also Company Secretary and is responsible for ensuring compliance of corporate governance at Board level. With her expertise in employment law, Donna is responsible for HR/employment matters, in addition to the construction and negotiation of commercial agreements and debt recovery. Her previous experience includes working for two legal 500 law firms in Bristol.


We ensure that the Biome Technologies plc Board accesses high quality advice at appropriate times. Our main advisers are listed below:

Auditor – Grant Thornton

Grant Thornton is one of the world’s largest professional services networks of independent accounting and consulting member’s firms which provides assurance, tax and advisory services to their clients.

Share registrars – Neville Registrars

Neville Registrars provides a first-class, professional share registration service. Their professional expertise is built upon nearly 75 years of continuous experience which has taught them that technical excellence, solid relationships and business conducted on first-name terms holds the key to success.

Legal – Osborne Clarke

Osborne Clarke is one of Europe’s most respected and dynamic law firms. The firm’s success is the result of delivering excellent business-focused legal advice in an energetic, straightforward and efficient way.

Nominated Adviser – Allenby Capital

Allenby Capital is an AIM Nominated Adviser and Broker offering a variety of integrated funding solutions for smaller, fast growing companies.